Ticketed by - Buy Tickets

Jóhann Jóhannsson featuring American Contemporary Music Ensemble

Artist Information

Jóhann  Jóhannsson,  born in  Iceland in  1969, isan  award-winning  composer,  musician  and producer.  His  work  often  blends  electronics  with  classical  orchestrations  and  bears  the diverse influences of the Baroque, Minimalism, and drone-based and electro-acoustic music. Jóhannsson’s  most  recent  film  soundtrack,  for  director  Denis  Villeneuve’s  thriller Sicario, attracted Oscar®, BAFTA and Critics’Choice nominations for best original score. In 2015 he won  the  Golden  Globe  and  received  Oscar®,  BAFTA,  Grammy®  and  Critics’Choice nominations  for  his  critically  acclaimed  score  for The Theory  of  Everything, James  Marsh’s biographical drama based on the life of theoretical physicist Stephen Hawking. Jóhannsson began studying piano and trombone at the age of eleven in his native Reykjavík.He  abandoned  formal  musical  training  while at  high  school,  however,  frustrated by  the constraints   imposed   on   music asan   academic   subject.   After   studying   literature   and languages at university, he spent ten years writing music for and playingin indie rock bands, using  guitars to  compose  feedback-drenched  pieces  and  sculpt  complex   multi-layered soundscapes. By   manipulating   the   resonances of   acoustic   instruments   with   digital processing,  Jóhannsson  created  music  that  integrated  acoustic  and  electronic  sounds  into something strikingly individual and new. His first solo album, Englabörn, was released in 2002 on the British Touch label. Its contents reveal  influences  spanning  everything  from  Erik  Satie,  Bernard Herrmann,  Purcell  and Moondog to electronic music issued by labels such as Mille Plateaux and Mego. Later works include Virðulegu   Forsetar   (2004), scored   for   brass   ensemble,   electronic   drones   and percussion, and the  orchestral albums Fordlândia (2008) and IBM 1401 –A User’s Manual(2006), the latter inspired by the sounds of electromagnetic emissions from the first of IBM’s pioneering  mainframe  computers. In  2010  Jóhannsson  collaborated  with  the  American avant-garde  filmmaker  Bill  Morrison  on The  Miners’Hymns,  a  lyrical  and  reflective response to  Britain’s  lost  industrial  past  and  the  heritage of  the  mining  communities ofNortheast England. The film’s accompanying score, conceived for live performance and also released as a soundtrack album, combines brass band, pipe organ and electronics. In addition to his scores for Hollywood, Jóhann Jóhannsson has also created soundtracks for several  acclaimed  works  of  world  cinema  and  for  documentary  films,  including Lou Ye’s Mystery, JánosSzász’s The Notebook and Max Kestner’s Dreams in Copenhagen. Last year he  completed  his  first  short  film as  director, End  of  Summer  (2015),  which  charts  a  slow, hypnotic journey across the austere landscapes of the remote island of South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula, its onscreen images accompanied by a haunting soundtrack score. Asanorchestral,  chamber  and  theatre  composer, he  has  written  works  for,  among  others,  the Winnipeg  Symphony  Orchestra,  Bang  on  a  Can,  Theatre of  Voices,  Det  Norske  Teater  and the Icelandic National Theatre. Currently working on a major new audiovisual piece, Jóhann Jóhannsson will soon make his Deutsche Grammophon debut with his first studio album in six years. Orphée, set for release in  September  2016  and  inspired  by  a  range of  readings  of  the  Orpheus  myth,  draws  on  a varied  sonic  palette,  both  acoustic  and  electronic, to  explore  the  boundaries  between darkness and light. It contemplates impermanence, memory and the elusive natureof beauty, ultimately celebrating art and its power of renewal.
Read More
*Service and handling fees are added to the price of each ticket.
  • Tue, April 18, 2017
  • 8:00 PM
  • $27.50 - $52.50
  • All Ages
  • Buy Tickets
  • budlight-new.png
  • stubhub-new-white.png
  • lagunitas-white-bg.png
  • riboli-logo-35.png
  • sailors-logo-b237e57946.jpg
  • tulamore-logo-ff6b6bf149.png